Pasta and Glue
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 27, 2018

--

If I am the fox, after all,
And if I stole into the hen house
with a restless jaw -

Would I be guilty
If I do not eat the hen?
If my tail stays meek between my legs?
If I leave the nests?
If I keep to myself?

Say I stole into the henhouse
Just to watch you snore,
To remember how your
Nose tip wiggles.
Just one more glimpse to memorize
the cluttered map of capillaries covering your eyes.

Say I stole into the henhouse
To fall in love with you.
To know you’ll fall, too.

Say I stole into the henhouse
Not knowing I’m the fox.
And like all the other times I couldn’t stop
It’s only when my paws pad in pools of blood
That I realize we’ve both had enough.

If I stole into the henhouse,
Would you be up still waiting for me?
And if the hen asked for it
Is the fox still guilty?

--

--