I swiped and I swiped and I swiped

Ernio Hernandez
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMay 30, 2016
photo by Aaron Burden

When I saw your face, ooh,
my mind couldn’t erase you.
So I swiped and I swiped and I swiped.

I wanted to pick you up,
but I didn’t have much luck.
Though I swiped and I swiped and I swiped.

You seem stuck in your way
and may have seen a better day.
Still, I swiped and I swiped and I swiped.

I went and got a drink,
then sat and had a think.
I was wiped and was wiped I was wiped.

One sip and it was clear
how to get you out of here:
I took the lid off my cup,
pulled the string and teabag up,
poured the hot water on you,
swiped the quarter and I got you!

Oh, it feels so very nice
to have freed you from the ice.
You old 25 cents from 1999,
I swiped you and at last you’re mine.

--

--