I think we need a safe word

David Kalal
Poets Unlimited

--

I think we need a safe word
For me, if not for you
You make such funny noises
When we are one, not two

And lest to you, I do, to you
that which I ought not do to you
Ought not be done,
Be did,
Bedew your outer you with inner me
We must feel free
To call a halt, a break, a pause
Confirm what’s mine is also yours
I think we need a safe word

For me, if not for us
You role-play so complexly
I could be Oedipus
or Bert from Mary Poppins
With round rough brush in hand.
Please choose a little safe word
So I can understand
If I mistreat the chimney pot, which I don’t want to do

I’d like to know the owner had rights to close the flue
And if I truly knew …
No, know I mean
If you could let me knew —
Or know I mean,
If I’ve been keen, beyond the ken of mortal men
Or you enthuse because your flues

Are chimney sweeped, till Jesus weeped
Or chimney swept, till Jesus wept
And so one has not overstepped

I think we need a safe word.

--

--