Kamila Zguzi
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readDec 18, 2016

--

I was yours

I was yours on all the nights
and throughout all the units of time
that were known
to wise men
who were sitting in linen robes
with their hands crossed
in the valleys of a different world
sipping water from my eyes

I was yours on all the nights
and clear days
eating rose petals from your hands
drinking goats milk
sweetened with powdered stars
and past lovers
inserted between the tired bedsheets
and used pillows

I was yours on all the nights
and years
of working in your garden
without gloves
with my naked hands and feet digging in the ground
deeply into earth
where you would bury the withered seeds of our forgotten love

I was yours on all the nights
and seasoned months
where I would watch your wings
getting closer to the many suns of our days
where you would spread wind
from inbetween your feathers
to the forbidden corners of your heart

I was yours on all those nights
but
you were never mine

--

--

Kamila Zguzi
Poets Unlimited

I write when I feel, which is pretty much all the time.