I Wonder

Don MacLeod
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2017
Photo by Don MacLeod

I wonder
I see your pain
You don’t really try to hide it
You see mine
I wonder
It’s a common bond
I love your passion
The way you express yourself
How angry you are at the world
How deep you hurt
I want to help
But I
Am so damaged myself
I wonder
Could I help
Would loving you
Make a difference
Would it even be possible
I mean
I already do
But
I wonder
I always do
Wonder
I’m just an idiot
It’s all I will do
Is wonder
It’s not really wonder
It’s doubt
That I would know
Are we just two broken people
That happened to see each other
In passing
For this moment in our lives
Or could there be more
I wonder
As I watch you pass by
One more time
With tears hidden in your eyes
Waiting
For the right person
Hoping for the right person
That knows how to release them
Without making more
I wonder
With my heart open
Waiting
Hurting too
Wanting my tears to be released
Looking for that same person
Wondering
Is it you
I will never know
I’m too scared to find out
Instead
I will wonder
And tell myself no
I am just broken
There is nothing there
Walk on
You want to help everyone
It’s true
But
I wonder

--

--

Don MacLeod
Poets Unlimited

Writer, Poet, Author, Innocent Ignorant in another atmosphere, Singer of songs that have no tunes.