I’d like my money in the B.V.I.

Quantom Cat
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJul 9, 2016

I’d like my money in the BVI,

Jersey, Panama good for my

cash and assets, ask no questions

avoiding tax, the rich obsession.

A lesson learnt quickly so it seems,

our politicians use legal schemes

to fiend and forage, save and store

so sons and daughters inherit more.

But we shouldn’t chastise, we shouldn’t blame,

they would say if we could, we’d do the same

to excuse themselves from the shame shame shame

of ripping us off for their own gain.

But it’s far worse than personal tax,

Facebook, Google stand and laugh,

rake in billions pay no more

than a small business pays to Osborne.

But it’s legal see and we should be grateful,

we want their business, apparently they’re able

to syphon funds, Lux or Swiss,

but we can’t do that, what have we missed?

Did I miss the memo where it occurred

that profits could go to Luxembourg,

where British consumers cash transferred

to Europe easily it’s absurd.

I’ve heard the word from Dave and Gideon

working hard to stop dominions

taking money from UK citizens,

wait Dave, where’s your fathers millions?

Sick of hearing the same old gory tory story

their old ill-gotten glory

an antiquated allegory

not illegal, just a bit naughty.

Now the voices a bit more quiet,

if we knew the half then we might well riot,

UK we’re leaders in avoidance or evasion

The UK is the worlds main tax haven.

--

--