I’m not as confident as I look . . .

Fox Kerry
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readFeb 12, 2018

(send in the snowmobiles)

The mountain’s big, the snow is quiet

They said this was fun, but I don’t buy it.

Dressed to kill, full of hot cocoa

to face a Black Diamond was seriously loco.

I don’t have poles, they said not needed

I just want the pool where the water is heated.

Chair Lift is cool, it’s fun to ride high

to wiggle your skis in the low of the sky.

But where have they gone, this family of mine

I’m tired of reflections of sun in my mind

and people whizzing by like bodies on rocket

and something happened to the food in my pocket.

I’m ready to go in, but I fear a bad thought

that I’ve got to go up to get down the right spot.

But what of that now when my legs in rebellion

say “no way, Jose, not one chance in a million!?”

Maybe someone will send me a SnowCat or Chopper

I don’t care what it costs, or if mom finds it proper.

I’m about to sit down in this island of snow cone.

My shoulder is sore, and I’m cold to the Toe Bone.

--

--

Fox Kerry
Poets Unlimited

If you paint for me even one thing which is true, perhaps I’ll be tempted to consider two. I tell tales poetically, someone else needs to set them to music.