In Love…

Praveen Prabhakar
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 25, 2017

Last summer, I fell in love,
It was beautiful to my body, to my mind,
And then I woke up in an abyss,
Something ingrained death in bliss,
Something carved in beneath,
Something craved for worse,
Genesis of a possessive inner curse,
Nemesis to my femininity,
I felt the lump of malignity,
Freaked out, I was scared,
I shrieked in silence,
For answers in anxious signs,
I found, I wasn’t spared,
Surgeries, chemotherapy, radiations,
Hellish journey of intense abrasions,
Horrible hangovers pricks you deep,
Sleepless nights, you just weep,
With chunks of your hair embracing emptiness,
The one in you persistently stabs your existence,
Yet,
You fight,
You fight with yourself,
You find the inner warrior,
You are stronger than the inner barrier,
Beyond the bosom, beyond the stress,
Hope has never been sparse,
You love the scars,
Symbol of your victory,
Symbol of your self-profound survival story,
Reminder that you can still love,
Essence that you are still alive,
This summer, I am in love with myself…

--

--

Praveen Prabhakar
Poets Unlimited

got to "Live" before I leave, got to “Write” before the twilight, got to "Trek" before the journey of a lifeless speck!