Inception

U-Meleni Mhlaba-Adebo
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMay 6, 2016

I think I felt my daughter speak to me
Whisper her presence in the depths of my core
Felt her name bubble into my mind “Shamiso”
When I saw that sweet angelic face across from me on the red line
I felt the tears
The push and pull of an atom about to split in my chest
I am bursting on the inside
My blood watering the field that is garden from whence she may grow
If her roots are strong enough
If my soil is filled with the magical possibility of this
Bliss
Am I ready ?
To hear her gurgle at me when I write
When I perform this poem of her inception in my mind
Before made whole
They say children are born or beg to be born
Maybe it is I who is quivering inside
Waiting to be born again
Maybe this is just a subway fling
A brief glimpse of an alternate woman I am or could be
Who is brave enough to be
Birthed again.

--

--

U-Meleni Mhlaba-Adebo
Poets Unlimited

Multi-disciplinary Artist |Poet | Performance Art| Marathoner |Author of poetry collection “Soul Psalms http://amzn.to/1T34SiV