unresolved conflict always results

Rick Chastain
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 1, 2017

Times Square plays her pageant
and I keep my head low

ducking those billboard girls
malevolent lips
their skinny hips
leading to violence among my senses

in those early days, when I was just beginning
my part in this long love
and only god knew then the damage I would do myself for you

west on Forty-Seventh
then the long blocks to Ninth
laying down my steps like Machine Gun

laying them down

laying them down

headed just right towards drunk and taking chances to cross
a street more filled with people than cars
while the circle of Hell’s Kitchen throws off its own red night

I find you corner-waiting
in the image I know and know and keep
from everyone

laughing, that full-throated laugh of your
strong white hungry mouth
so hard our teeth come together
when we kiss hello again

then the sticky morning heat
and city smell
coming in like oil
along with the clash and the bam of the early street trash man

__

--

--