Ink

Renae Tobias
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readApr 15, 2017
https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/88/48/49/8848497e6ab33c4d5fd765204153a8f1.jpg

If I wove a story onto the surface of my flesh,
Would you dare read to the finish
Pour over chapters with rapt attention
Memorize your favorite lines?

If I mapped out my journey in graven images,
Would you walk the twisted paths with me
Remind me of light beyond the shadows
Battle the dragons?

If I carved my pain into something tangible,
Would you still see beauty in the scars
Tend to my woundedness
Treasure the warrior?

If I warded my heart with potent runes and sigils,
Would you dare move past the barrier
Risk consequence and cataclysm
See beyond skin deep?

--

--

Renae Tobias
Poets Unlimited

A poet’s ramblings & a writer’s pipe-dreams; this is what my world is made of.