It’s Only a Paper Moon

Debbie Aruta-Watkins
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMay 31, 2019

It’s only a paper moon,
it holds my dreams and more.
It’s only a paper moon,
It is a wish made from floor.

It isn’t as bright as the moon,
it’s paper after all.
It’s a fake moon on my wall,
but still I make my wish.

Moonlight, moon bright,
first paper moon I see tonight,
I wish I may, I wish I might,
have this mighty wish tonight.

Grant me peace upon my bed,
when I lay down my sleepy head.
Hold me in your sweet night light,
that I may wake and be bright.

May you guide me through this night,
may you always hold me close,
gather up my thoughts,my prayers &
keep bad dreams at bay.

It’s only a paper moon,
It preserves my secrets tight,
It illuminates my life,
It contains my heart’s delight.

--

--