Just About Dark

Silver Dog
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJun 3, 2017

Oak leaves shatter
clay caked boots heavy
I’ve been digging since noon
and now I’m ready
burying any body
takes awhile
easy enough to make
a hole
but difficult to fill.

Not a single god showed up
to help
so I did it all myself
a condition I’ve grown used to
the last thing I could do
a solo performance
love’s labor for the lost.

Time to wipe my hands clean
and say something
recite a happy memory
speak of remembering
say anything
other than just
good bye.

Lots of room in the grave
for other things
marigold seeds
green eyed memories
and the silver ring you gave me
buried until the spring.

I will pray graveside all night
begging for a resurrection
I used to believe eternity exists
but now I know
only the stars listen.

--

--