Just Once…

Barely.Focused
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMay 31, 2016

Just once, to wear the ribbon
To have beaten down the odds
Or hell, to have small victories
No matter what it costs.

Reckoning, in full fathom
The realm of what I’m worth
Wallowing in self defeat
I drink sunshine and swallow dirt.

To stand alone up here on top
Disappear inside the thrill
One moment of true glory
And the confidence instilled.

To forget the brazen romance
Dismal failure has surely wrought
And be everyone’s good soldier
That work ethic surely sought.

Grab the elusive brass ring
Pull it close, and hold it tight
Let the klieg lights shine down on me
Even if only for one night.

Called to wake and prosper
I sit idle, and complain
Others hold the cards
They are the ones to blame.

Just once, to be whole
Fulfilling all my dreams
Or hell, a chance to make
Tomorrow better than it seems.

--

--