Just To Say Hi!

S.P.
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2016

The door-bell rang and you opened the door,
Seeing you there, I couldn’t ask for more,
I told you, by your street I was passing by,
So I thought I’d stop by, just to say Hi!

But I really didn’t step out to roam,
Loneliness was killing me back home,
There couldn’t have been any bigger a lie,
When I told you, I stopped by just to say Hi!

I didn’t want to know “how was your day?”
I didn’t want to make small talk, lead you astray,
Even though I feel so safe around you, I wondered why,
I couldn’t tell you I didn’t stop by, just to say Hi!

We spoke about religion, politics, the doom of mankind,
We spoke about everything except what was on my mind,
I wanted to hug you, shout out loud and cry,
‘Cos I really didn’t stop by, just to say Hi!

I wish you could see the truth in my eyes,
I wish that you could somehow surmise,
That it was nothing more than a big alibi,
When I told you I stopped by, just to say Hi!

--

--

S.P.
Poets Unlimited

Amateur Writer, Keen Observer, Nature-Lover, Thrive on Intellectual Stimulation! Sometimes, I procrastinate like there's no today!