Land of Mines

Khushboo Dem
Poets Unlimited
1 min readApr 7, 2016

--

Hidden behind the closed door, the sound of loud voices

Piercing through the wood, comes into my ears

I sit numb in the periphery of fear encircling me from all angles

A cry from somewhere inside me buried, comes out

Followed by a tear finding its escape outside in open air

Really do they care? Those humans on the other side

Fighting over their issues, building hatred in their minds

Souls of them, consumed in anger, burning and fuming

And fueled by how they cannot sort out their indifferences

What fault shall I find in my fate, living in the land of mines

Every other day just as hateful as the one gone by

Then how won’t I fear a little joy, passive, appearing

As per their delight and they assume me to be a puppet

Their child, only child, a possession to dance on the tunes

Of their changing moods, faltering as sky changes color

As I begin to question my existence, the door opens

And out comes the creators of my crushed soul.

Originally posted for my blog

--

--