Jimmy Nyakora
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readFeb 15, 2018

--

Less Than Perfect

You made me from the dirt
Just perfect in earthen glory
Yet perfection is the last I see

I’m aware of a deep aching
A ceaseless pursuit of perfection
Beause they told me:
“All things work for good…To them that are perfect”

So at times I wonder what’s up with me?
Why I’m I so deeply unsure of You?
Why’d you bake me out of dirt
Only to find myself back
A rolling quagmire of confusion

They lied to me that committment
Committing to You will be all perfect
Or so it seems
Or so they make it seem

So when things don’t go my way I feel worthless
When they do I’m king of process
And the sick game continues

You made me perfect
But perfection is a gift
You give to those in the dirt
So I’ll roll in the dirt

Accept this less than perfect state
And hope that
Someday you’ll make me out of the dirt
Perfect in your eyes

--

--