Let’s Not Waste Time On Contrast

Aimee Q Devlin
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMay 15, 2017

I am not bound by convention,
nor coloured by skin
or by tongue.
And I will not be told
that I cannot be one;
with my sisters and brothers
the fathers and mothers,
the sons and the daughters
of She.

I am not immune
to comments or words;
that cut like a knife
or a dagger with spurs.

But I am a woman,
and I am complete.
I am strong,
I am whole,
and I can foresee.

What many cannot
whilst blinded by hate,
by division, and habits,
and visons of fate.

I will not be told
what to think or to say,
what colour or sentence
is okay today.

For I know deep within
what is right, what is wrong.
I feel it within,
I have known all along.

We are daughters and sons,
from the family of She.
We are beauty and strength,
and humility.
We are grounded and open,
angelic, and wise.
Loving, connected,
Let’s open our eyes.

We are all individual,
yet we are the same.
We’ve come here to live
and to feel the pain.
Of loving and wounding,
and hatred and spite.
The heartbreaking depths
and the breathtaking heights.

So let’s not waste time on contrast,
Let’s not compare what can never be so.
For She is where we’ve come from,
and She is where we’ll one day go.

— Joy and Resilience

FB || INSTA

--

--

Aimee Q Devlin
Poets Unlimited

Freedom | Online Business | Motherhood | Life Transformation | Unconventional and Out-Of-The-Box Thinker | aimeeqdevlin.com