Chloe Wallace
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 13, 2016

--

Making peace

This life is not for me I had said
No one was paying attention
In truth no one cared

It was me in my first few years
Me staring into the silence
Of the life to come, the pixie dust of time

It was me saying that words hurt and stung
Poetry was sad and staid and no one was paying attention
It was me running to the other side,
Looking for something
Rightful and mine and normal and fine

The dust of time rushed and rose and it settled
And covered my head and it thinned my blood
The years had come and they went

I look around and finally it’s me, I don’t care
The silence is there and I still stare
My mind is a child and it says 'I will play'
I sit on the sand
I tinker with words, it’s ok
I’m finally me and I say
Come hither my songs
Sit here with me my old friend
It’s mine and it’s come and I lay
At peace with the words that scuttle across
The floors of my brain.

--

--