May 5, 2016: Ascension Thursday

Mavelyn Gray
Poets Unlimited
1 min readMay 6, 2016

--

They say

it takes twice as long.

And today is fourteen months

of freedom

since the days of empty promises

to stay with me forever

And forever

I will be grateful

for freedom

that came at a severe price

of threats and fears

not only to not be free

but also that I might cease to be

alive

is what I feel

and reel in gratitude.

And there are other words

today about a different kind

of leave-taking.

As I tell their gentle faces,

there are also tears,

not because of any cruelty

But rather, love

and the imminent absence

of the one who has won

the hearts of little children.

“It is better for you that I go…”

…the Lord ascends

and I assent

to truths I have not yet known

and hopes I could not

would not see.

You see,

this Thursday,

I too am lifted up

as I wait for my Advocate to come.

--

--