Media Menu

LisaDW
Poets Unlimited
1 min readDec 7, 2016

--

Dumpling hips compliment
savory sausage-thighs.
Pride swells in ample bosom
and blossoms on caramel cheeks.
My feast is complete.

Media boasts a different menu.
Sauce on the side
less food on the plate
I inhale lies.
Exhale self-hate.

I gobble up Vogue Covers.
Reach for skeletal frames.
Wish for the bland,
barely-there breasts.
Dream of minimal hips
atop ivory toothpicks.

But, delicious curves won’t surrender.
They stick and stay true.
So, I open a vein
and drain my enemy.
Death delivers
what life could not-
Vicky’s secret
to a happy life.

Media boasts a different menu.
Sauce on the side
less food on the plate.
I internalized the lies.
I exhaled the self-hate.

Don’t judge your beauty by the Media’s Measuring Stick.

--

--

LisaDW
Poets Unlimited

Who said writing was my choice? “They’re stuck in my head. Stories that need to be birthed feel heavy, full grown.”