Memorial Day Wounds and Memories

Janet Campbell
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMay 29, 2016

I

Thousands of miles away they meet to lay their war to rest. He wouldn’t be there

His name wouldn’t be on the monument of heroes

If he were dead, I would know, there would be no reunion with him, on this earth

If he were dead I would try to remember his crazy ways, with me

If he were dead I could put my life together, without him

As I sit, in a vacant New York City bar, I drink in life, I laugh, I breath

Thoughts of him flip through the corners of my girlhood, like a photo album

Are his moments peaceful, does he think of me, is he in a passing dream of reunions or reoccurring nightmares sliding, from one life to another

II

Many years ago, a war was raging, a war now over, an era put to rest

thousands plus, finally honored, finally, welcomed home, a generation quieted

But his war and my war has not been won or lost

Has not been honored

He is still, just missing

--

--