Midnight, Full Moon

Jackie Ann
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJun 13, 2017
Pixabay.com

I tiptoed to the roof
to be temporarily away
from the droning day to day.

Alone, one can easily slip
out the back door
without being missed.
Alone, one can easily spend
a lifetime in orbit around a dream
that unravels to the night like angel hair
to hold you, to trap you in golden threads.

You can beat your wings
against a celestial web
but you’ll never take flight,
never shine in the heart of darkness.
Hide your innocence, it will hurt you.

I’ve hurt enough…

So I go to the roof to be, for a short time, away.
I go there for freedom, to sail through sorrow
and find my way back home.

There, above my neighborhood,
like a wounded bird
I cursed the sky into which I could not
soar. I envied the sea —
the swell of it, the
rolling crests,
the dipping waves,
the tide’s persistent pull
and how the shore
never wants for the current’s kiss,
would always feel its return,
would never hold footprints
for too long.

--

--

Jackie Ann
Poets Unlimited

Passionate writer who enjoys using the creative process as a means of self expression and self reflection.