Lauren Ellis Matthews
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readOct 3, 2017

--

Mimas

i imagine you too are one of the most battered moons in the system

but it only makes you more hatable
your scars
and your oblivion

i understand your dimples
are born of ancient impacts and

the dents on your craggy knees in which i lose myself

are similarly not your fault

it’s just what happens, whne you’ve been around for a while

i like an old moon
someone i’ve known before
i feel safe around that
the problem is we all feel safe near the things which have always wounded us

the problem is i may never sleep

The Spring Light Helped Cassini
Find Budding Moonlets

you’ve helped me realize
time and again
when i doubt my power
and you patiently walk my rings, reminding me

but moonlets
take so goddamn long
to flower
don’t you find?

--

--