Babar Mir
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMar 5, 2018

--

Mirrors

I gently push the door,
watching as it swings open
its hinges making a creaking sound .
You're seated on a bed in the center of the room
and as I look at you a thousand reflections of you line up right behind.
It's unnerving to have so many of your eyes on me .
I swallow the bile which has risen in my throat,
and realize that all the walls are masked with mirrors .
Each reflection a step into the oblivion,
which I took after falling in love with you.
There is something strange about you,
the spot your seated in reflects you onto a mirror
which cuts through every mirror around.
Your reflections cuts through mine,
and for some reasons that seems important.
I walk around watching myself,
observing the infinite versions of me.
Your eyes never leave me
watching me keenly with every step that I take .

I want to come closer to you
to touch your bare skin,
letting my fingers feel liberated as they explore every inch.
I know you love me and want me the same way,
because I can see it now in all those reflections of you.
Still there is something that I do not quite understand,
is my reflection the wall in our relationship,
as I let the distance between us slip away like grains of sand.

-Babar Mir

--

--