http://www.billywatts.com

Mondays

a.arcillas
Poets Unlimited

--

I couldn’t find the words to depict
a day when both my mind and body
drained, empty and weary

eyes half awake,
hands holding close the gray blanket
phone began to ring,
alarm set is calling

up like somnambulist
bumping on edges
hitting the walls
walking dead

thirty minutes past nine
there I was,
rushing,
suiting myself off to go

on the bus
I wasn’t sitting
full-housed, yes it is

Am standing sturdy
sweat trickling down my neck
strands of hair falling across my cheeks

Ah, heaven-sent !
Indeed, chivalry isn’t dead
For a man handed his sit
letting me take over and resume the sleep

Monday,monday
Forgive me when I say
I am still imprisoned by Saturday
and Sunday

Spare me some time,
this woman will be up
alive and kicking.

--

--