Moon, Part I

thewrathofsponge
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readAug 14, 2017
Artwprl by the amazing Atey Ghailan (https://www.artstation.com/snatti)

It was mostly the skin you wear that was the Genesis
The silence around you was the Exodus
That made an orbit with you as the center
I will never admit to gravitational tethers
So I stayed as far as the tether allowed.
And staying far still meant I was around
A lost rock in corners of space.
Only watching the skin you wear race
My envy into being.

I am jealous of the space you have.
It has you.
It wraps around you to a quantum level and calls time to assist.
It keeps me far within the pits
Of longing?
[of longing]
For as far as my mind allows

I am jealous of the space you have.
It has you.
If that is what it takes then, I will have it
I will keep it close within my pits
Of longing?
[of longing]
For as far as my mind allows

Because you glow in the dark of a frightful night
Unending night
Everyone else sees the light,
But I saw it leave at a speed equal to its own and
Through the cracks of chaos and sanity
Beyond which I have no fragility
You glow in the dark if a frightful night
Unending night.
Unquestionably so.

It was mostly the skin you wear that was the Genesis
And the silence around you was the exodus
But now, it is the glow that you let off your essence
That forms the words

My moon is chocolate

--

--