Photo by Alessio Lin on Unsplash

Mother’s Dream

Darryl Willis
Poets Unlimited
Published in
Aug 25, 2017

--

I dreamed of my Dad: he stood
at the edge while I nursed
my unborn child. His hollow haunted
face gave me a fright; I felt
a chill in my heart to hear
the voice of one long dead and gone.
“I’ve come for Roger Dean, there is
a place he must see.” But no,
he belongs with me and not
on some alabaster stone.
They say disturbing dreams can be
expected by the one expectant
waiting for the first born child.
But all I know is Daddy came
for my Roger Dean and now
they have gone into the night
while I am left alone to grieve.

To support the poet’s benign coffee addiction: Coffee.

--

--

Darryl Willis
Poets Unlimited

Has worked in non-profits for 40 years and is currently a Regional Director for an international non-profit. He holds an MA in Biblical text.