Muslim Haiku -1

My understanding of Islam in Haiku

Lisa Spray
Poets Unlimited
2 min readOct 1, 2019

--

personal photo

Like the sun rising
over rolling black mountains
lighting up my heart

Salat¹ grows my soul
Zakat, Ramadan and Hajj²
also do the same

God’s great creation
draws me right, back there to Him³ —
Paradise on Earth!⁴

What a Merciful
Lord and Master mankind has
Who so blesses us

Who sends the gentle rain,
filling fields with waving green
and bright, clear bird song

What more do we need
To be joyous and content?
Glory be to God!

Notes:

¹ Salat is the Arabic word for the prayer done by Muslims five times each day to make direct contact with the Creator who is known in Arabic as “Allah”, in Spanish as “Dios”, in Farsi as “Khuda”, in English as “God”, in Hindi as “Īśvara”, etc.

² Zakat is the required charity to the poor (2.5% of your income after taxes, whenever you “harvest” or receive it), Ramadan is the lunar month of fasting from food and drink from earliest dawn until sunset and Hajj is the pilgrimage to Mecca when and if one can afford to make it. More details are available on line. I especially like this link.

³ From the Quran I understand that when I commemorate the Divinity in any way, by any name, I am drawn closer and closer to that blessed being. Please see Quran 73:8.

⁴ What greater paradise can there be than being close to God, however you understand that wondrous being?

--

--

Lisa Spray
Poets Unlimited

I 💕nature, photography, writing & travel. I find deep sharing heals. All with sincere faith are my spiritual family. Editor: The ❤️of Quran. Join us there 🤝.