My Daughters Cry

Karen Kilbane
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 9, 2016

My daughters in their twenties
Full of life
Full of idealism

Now cry intermittently for a country they
Never thought could disappoint them so

They are young enough not to have been
Marginalized
Quieted

The were never forced against their will
To wear uncomfortable, restrictive dresses or ideologies,
Told to look pretty
Be sweet
Smile more
Talk less

They have been independent,
Fierce,
Bold

They have a voice and believe all girls and women should have a voice

They are afraid they and many others will lose their voice.

But our daughters will rise and their mothers will rise.

We will cry intermittently
But we will be independent,
Fierce,
Bold.

Just watch us.

--

--

Karen Kilbane
Poets Unlimited

My students with special needs have led me to develop a hypothesis for a brain-compatible theory of personality. Reach me at karenkilbane1234@gmail.com