My Mind and Me

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readSep 3, 2018

Don’t hold me down for long
No need to prove your strength
Mind, after the count, release me
Remember you are still learning

I know in a strange way
You want to protect me
And, granted, you’ve got me this far
But sometimes, Mind, you need to step back

Don’t feel rejected, Mind
Give space to other contenders
I appreciate all you’ve done
The many revelations over the years

Euphoric moments of joy
Followed by plunging spirals of paranoia
And let’s not forget the downright jealous rage
Or when you became humiliated and ashamed

Mind and me, we’ve come a long way
I’ve been filling you up for decades
Just understand I need to declutter
Empty you out from time to time

I am certain we want the same results
But often we are reading different scripts
Here, share my version
Take my page and edit with me.

___________________________

--

--

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited

Editor, Writer, Seeker. Believes unequivocally in the value of connection, the power of words and animals as sentient beings.