My Pain Is…

Mahmoud Awad
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJul 11, 2019
Photo by Ben Cliff on Unsplash

Being accused of crimes I did not commit
Being abused for beliefs I did not hold
Being assaulted for values I did not exist.

The viciousness and hatred in your words
Dead like roses
And not knowing whom to believe.

My uncertainty, my agony, laughing at Pig Haggerty.

Not seeing how I can end this.

The crease on my forehead
The extra 50 pounds I carry
The crooked teeth and pointy ear
The complexity; misunderstood, unseen.

Going to sleep and hoping it lasts forever
And knowing my poems will never have a voice
And nobody wants to listen.

How I bathe myself in self-prescription
b.i.d
Finally washing up on the shore.

Knowing nothing means anything. Quietly, I break-harm myself.

My pain is a force too fierce to be sublimated
And wounds that time will never heal.

My pain is me.

--

--

Mahmoud Awad
Poets Unlimited

Not a reader, writer, medical student, basketball addict, and reasonably insane person.