Nana te Amo

Focail do a Chara

Christine Salkin Davis
Poets Unlimited
1 min readMay 29, 2017

--

Nana te Amo

Images of babies.

Soft skin,

sleepy eyes,

smells of powder and poop,

sweet earthy smells,

chubby cheeks,

perfect lips,

and tiny tiny fingers and toes.

A soft head of dark hair

against Carmel skin

and deep blue gray eyes.

Your weight against my chest

as you breathe heavily,

deeply,

and twitch in your dreams of

heaven and earth,

secure in your soul’s memories,

trusting in the life into which you have been placed.

I hold you in my arms,

my grandson,

and give you promises of

love, safety, hope, joy, health.

Knowing I can guarantee none of these.

Te amo, mi Jonah.

© Christine Salkin Davis, please visit my blog here

--

--

Christine Salkin Davis
Poets Unlimited

I write a blog called "Focail do a Chara," a compilation of arts-based, poetic, and narrative thoughts on living and dying, caring and being.