Not Forever

--

“Hands….” by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

I rush headlong,
No, feet first,
Through life,
Like every day
Is an everyday,
And there will be more
Where that one came from.

Enough time, I say,
Tomorrow and tomorrow.

Then tomorrow’s shadow
Scatters ashes in the light.

I beat them,
Dust from an old rug,
Motes floating freely,
Settling on the surface
Of my night.

Hold on, I say.
Today, today’s
Like any other day.

But yesterday
Becomes tomorrow.
Black flakes fall,
Accumulate,
Drift through open doors
Cling to windows,
A curtain on the moon.

There will remain
Nothing to see,
Nothing to be,
Nothing at all.

--

--

Ronald C. Flores-Gunkle
Poets Unlimited

An aged humanist hanging on to the idea that there is hope for humankind against most current indications. Slightly older than my photo. A happy octagenarian!