Ode to Dragon

Draegohn
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2016

Oh to be a dragon

and free of mortal years

Dammar Concept by AlectorFencer

Oh to be a ferret with wings

and hoard a thousand treasures

Oh to be an aviating eel

and snake through wisping clouds

Ohhh to be a dragon

and forget my mortal fears.

Oh woe is me and Karma-chi

why the sudden devotion?!

In retrospect I do now look

and ask who was this

fiercely fighting fool who fell me?

MYRE — The Great Black Dragon by AlectorFencer

These are now sadly, I do reckon

but mortal impoverished years.

Oh to be a dragon

and stoically hone my k-9’s

Oh to be a dragon

and breathe fire on fleeing fuckers.

What’s done is done and said is said

here I am, a hairless ape

Flightless, scaleless, gold-less, fire-less;

as well as, mortal, weak and scrawny.

He is only smiling… by AlectorFencer

But deep within we all should know

there is a dragon that slumbers

and the days are numbered

for all that’s been

of this dragon-kin

is to once again

breathe fire on fleeing fuckers.

Special thanks to AlectorFencer and the beautiful fitting art.

--

--

Draegohn
Poets Unlimited

Barely holding my sanity together with peanut butter. Willing to contribute poetry to SciFi / Fantasy works (draegohnkihn@gmail.com). heathenthink.blogspot.de