One

Patsy Starke
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readApr 1, 2017
Clipartpanda.com

How many is ever enough?
when only one will do

Wanted a lot of them,
but only had room for one

Always wanted more,
when having one was better than none

Sought out many friends,
just couldn’t find a best one

Wanted more helpings,
but couldn’t finish the first one

Was told to pick one,
hoped it was the right one

Wanted to try again,
but I only had one chance

Only have one life to live
going to make it a good one

Everybody has one
I’m satisfied with the one I have

They say one is a lonely number
never when it’s the one I am…

Patsy 2017

--

--

Patsy Starke
Poets Unlimited

Registered Nurse, Transgender Woman In a lifelong transition, Parent, Grandparent, Normal every day run of the mill person, realizing my place here.