Janet Campbell
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMay 26, 2016

--

Only on a Friday Night

Out on my own

Rushing here, going there, mostly

Staying put like an hourglass,

Sipping grains of sand from my coffee cup

Weighing my thoughts from rebounding

Out of place, living in spaces, living alone,

amidst this sea of life’s changes

“a pair of ragged claws” swimming through the sea of NY subways

Crowded into small places

Grains of sand leak behind my eyes

Out of time on my blue prints for life

Racing wildly out of control feeling like I am being

swallowed whole by the urban undertow

In the days, before your doubts

I held my place

In this time

The present

In this space among the

grains of grey thought

there are sins and lies that can not be denied

Backwards

I look back

I look backwards

Against the forces of time

Altering memories, recalling there was a time

I was never in doubt

--

--