Only then will I be free

Unlabelled
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readApr 13, 2018

Why do I hold such love for one who has left me behind

Dear God please rip out this emotion from my chest

Take away the thoughts from my struggling mind

The man I long for no longer exists

He is but a mere memory now -

The past of a man whose present is without me

So allow me to realise this and move forward

To find peace within myself and be who I need to be

Grant me the ability to be in a place

Where I no longer yearn for him, or anyone

Only then will my presence in this world

Be of use to me or any in my life

And only then will I finally be free

SM, 26.01.18

--

--

Unlabelled
Poets Unlimited

My dearest dysfunctional mind, you can find your comfort in writing.. (Follow @s_k_mustafa on Instagram for daily extracts of my poems 😊)