Pauper Ergo Sum

Mike Essig
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2018
harbus.org

Pauper Ergo Sum

ein Gesang gegen den Tod

Pauper Ergo Sum
Make a poem of supplication and hope.

Pauper Ergo Sum
I place myself in the hands of beauty.

Pauper Ergo Sum
Peace lies beyond wants or needs.

Pauper Ergo Sum
Some arms yet reach to embrace.

Pauper Ergo Sum
A poor man requires only friends.

Pauper Ergo Sum
Free me from these aching bonds.

Pauper Ergo Sum
Take me to that house in the woods.

Pauper Ergo Sum
I dream of redemption among the thorns.

Pauper Ergo Sum
The stories told are not those that remain.

Pauper Ergo Sum
There is a path beyond loneliness and pain.

Pauper Ergo Sum
Let me enfold myself in your wealth.

Pauper Ergo Sum
Sing me the blues in your rich breath.

Pauper Ergo Sum
Save me from the forest of bones.

Pauper Ergo Sum
Be with me in the hour of death.

If you enjoy my work or have ever enjoyed my work, and would like to sustain it (and me) this is the exact moment when, if you can afford it, I implore you to make a donation, however small or large, via my PayPal account. The poverty worm is biting hard just now. I need help to bite back. You can donate at:

https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/bookgardener

Thank you for your continued support.

--

--

Mike Essig
Poets Unlimited

Honorary Schizophrenic. Recent refugee. Displaced person. Old white male. Confidant of cassowaries.