Peace & Perspective

Debbie Aruta-Watkins
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readAug 14, 2019

The woods are dark, they go for miles.
They are filled with paths to rest my soul.
The woods are quiet, full of peace,
while in my outside world, turmoil hunts me.

The woods welcome me in warmth and grace.
They protect me from my outside strife,
They get me to an ethereal like place,
pulling me deeper in their home to stay.

But the woods to me, mean I am home,
they need not lure me in too deep,
they give me rest and time to recharge.
Love pours forth in this magical place.

A Peace & Perspective flood my soul,
Long tall pines on all four sides.
Everyday life gone for a short while.
This is a gift given from the trees.

The woods are haunting,people ignoring all it offers,
They ponder the deep dark woods, but never enter.

Some may attempt to feel their soul,
but fear of the unknown scares them,
it scares them right back out into the light.

A gift given back, fear beating in their hearts,
the woods abandoned for an office.
Come back call the woods,for there is nothing to fret,
you are welcome in this exceptional place.

--

--