Phub You

Steve Morris
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2017

If only I could see,
What’s on Direct T.V.
YouTube, Dish and Netflix,
What is in store for me?

What better way,
To say I care?
Than a tech wall,
While you just stare.

I snub and snub,
Phub fucking Phub.

Lack of interest,
Due to Pinterest.
Nothing so tender,
Without my Tinder.

Check my Periscope,
To kill all your hope.
Then there’s Facebook,
Just take one look. LOOK!

I snub and snub,
Phub fucking Phub.

Eyes down. I miss your desire.
Your universe is on fire.
It burns hotter and brighter,
Than my LCD empire.

But wait…

Here’s an email, Kik,
Tumblr, LinkdIn,
Twitter, Vine, WeChat,
Time hop, Yik Yak,
Instagram, Snapchat,
Text, and Sext,
Can’t miss whats next!

I snub and snub,
Phub fucking Phub.

I’ll miss the shooting star,
Never see the mountains,
Children, friends, and loved ones,
Or the clouds and the oceans.

I’ll turn my back and peak,
Try to sneak, I am weak.
Look and seek, I won’t speak.
Just make you feel so bleak.

I will digitally,
Kill our intimacy,
So I can have MySpace,
In this, our sacred place.

I snub and snub,
Phub fucking Phub.

See the world at light speed,
As life flies by faster.
Words in your eyes to read,
But tech is my master.

As life flies by,
Life flies by,
Life flies,
Bye.

--

--

Steve Morris
Poets Unlimited

Lachrymose emotion, And Lysergic logic, Mix with my devotion, For words so nostalgic.