“Pole Position” Atari 2600 Screen Shot

Pole Position

(№4 in the Atari 2600 Poems Series)

Zachary Houle
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJan 21, 2017

--

When I drove into the other vehicle
Bumped out into the rumble strip
I was stunned
The realism of the surroundings was stunning, too
(For its time)
For a minute, I forgot where I thought I really was
In Japan,
Racing
Needless to say, I didn’t qualify
Condemned to simply restart the race
Try once again to make it beyond that opening lap
There was a reason for my recklessness on the track
On that futile attempt at joining the fray
It was because
I’d become distracted:
There were no cup holders in the basement couch
To hold the beer
Taking sips with my hands on the stick
Was a challenge I just wasn’t up to, I suppose

There is one thing that offered relief and respite:
At least, there was no police officer around
At least, not like the other time …
Some stories are left unspoken

--

--

Zachary Houle
Poets Unlimited

Book critic by night, technical writer by day. Follow me on Twitter @zachary_houle.