Prayer for my Grandson

Today’s Focail do a Chara

Christine Salkin Davis
Poets Unlimited
1 min readSep 17, 2017

--

Asleep in my arms,

your head is heavy,

your skin, soft,

your breath, slow and deep,

and your scent, the sweet earthy scent of baby.

You sleep the sound sleep of safety,

hanging on to love and comfort,

trust and attention,

like babies thousands of years before

and thousands of years hence, sleep.

Sure that the air will be clear,

the waters, clean,

the people, kind and filled with grace.

This is a promise I wish I could offer, my grandson.

Instead, I offer a prayer.

© Christine Salkin Davis, 2017

Originally published at christinesdavisphd.blogspot.com on September 17, 2017.

--

--

Christine Salkin Davis
Poets Unlimited

I write a blog called "Focail do a Chara," a compilation of arts-based, poetic, and narrative thoughts on living and dying, caring and being.