Prayer for Power

Ginni Chauhan
Poets Unlimited
2 min readMar 5, 2017

--

I was never in the habit of asking,
as I believed in working for it myself
Trusted no one but my ability,
and praying for something I wanted, was never expected of me.

Here I am now,
still intact within myself
My life however changing,
as time changes itself
I still believe in me and all my work
But also now I know that controlling all things is not my calibre!

I would never ask for special favors,
for boons to live an easier life
As life is only easy, anything easier would simply be a lie.
I still find myself humbled, with my head low and eyes closed
Closed not this world but to the veils of its enticing flow.
And life however told me, told me how to pray,
pray for the right things and not at mere dismays!

So, I pray for POWER and not strength,
as strength only moves people,
power moves and holds oneself.

I pray for POWER, the power to move insistently with time
Move at its pace, making peace with what is and what was never mine.

I pray for POWER, power to mold myself,
hold myself fast,
to life coming full circle
whilst time concerting its path.

I pray for POWER, power to stand corrected,
corrected by time, when my present seem infected
Infested, by the visions of future and memories of past
all the vague and thorough assumptions of an otherwise worthwhile cast.

I pray for POWER, power to endure
any and all turbulence of time’s flow.
Pray for the POWER to be myself,
when everything changes from how I know.

I ask you the ability
for you enable me to live this life
Now make me capable of living it fully,
O almighty who ends all lives.
I ask for the ability of staying in touch,
of times changing,
changing as such.
Allow me to change with time,
yet keep me out of its loop
For I pray to you
whose movements time executes.

I always believed in working
and was not known to pray
Still I am praying and my prayers working,
working all dismays.

My ebook- Surrender: Poems & Short-Notes on LOVE, life & Death

--

--

Ginni Chauhan
Poets Unlimited

I write what I feel. I write over cups of coffee. It's never enough, that's why I do it again. https://buymeacoffee.com/ginnichauhan