Image courtesy of William Stitt

Proof of Evolution

Joe Young
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJun 6, 2017

--

The gills in my lungs that are dormant,
I would reawaken.
If it is your love
That I can drink in.
You are the carbon,
Of which my being is based,
If I could say what it is that I adore about you.
It would be your taste.
Your taste in men like me
Is what leaves me stunned.
Where other’s saw hundreds,
You only saw one.
Vines grew
Out of old scars,
As you unraveled my mind.
Playing your guitar.
My smile was covered,
By the afro you maintain.
After I kissed your forehead,
While we stood in the rain.
The right to defend your love is not mine.
Though I will take up arms,
If so ever came the time.

--

--

Joe Young
Poets Unlimited

I’m Joe. A web developer who loves writing poetry about love, black empowerment, space, and video games. I post what I’m most proud of here. www.joetheready.com