Random Flutters

Wandering Soul
Poets Unlimited
Published in
3 min readMay 3, 2017

I’m going to tell you a story, the one I seldom recall,
An incident of a kind, I’m sure we had it all.

Flying back from Prague, with dreams full of romance
Knew not his name, sat next to me on the plane
We gave each other a glance.
He seemed very cut and dry
I liked him I don’t know why,
Little did I know it was just the start
Single men into their late 30s are a piece of art!
You don’t know what they feel, they think they are sought,
All they want is fun in their lives full of drought!

It was an ironical coincidence, I can’t really explain
We often parted ways to meet again and again.
So we first met for work, he was undoubtedly a jerk
He arrived in style to impress me in his Jupiter red merc.
The meeting was unexpectedly nice, time just flew by
The clock at the bar struck eleven, it was time to say goodbye.

Subsequent dates followed, I just couldn’t ever refuse
He was warm and gentle, he became my latest muse.
My reason to shop, the man of my dreams
But Alas he was a vegetarian; I couldn’t even go to Karim’s.

Every time we met, I wanted him more
Wanting to unravel what was in store.
I tried to know him better, he intentionally held back
Ever since the start, he was always on one track.

I wanted him to yearn
Give me something to learn
About him and his desires
But he started with Laphroig and ended with Bombay Sapphire.

His eyes were calm, his hands so strong
Oh man I can’t let this distance prolong.
The dilemma had to end; I decided to take it fast
Make my feelings evident, not stretch what may not last.

I planned my every move
Wasting time further, my heart didn’t approve.
So we met at his favourite bar
He stared at me as I got down from my car.
He had his martinis, I ordered gin
Today I had to perform the eternal sin.

We had a pleasant evening; I made it very clear
He had to buck up; it was now his turn to steer.
He had to make him mark, I can no more stay in the dark
My heart refused another date, this was his last chance to take the bait.

He finally did the talking; took things in control
Made his intentions clear, around me I let his hands stroll.
He played with words, made all the right moves
It wasn’t his first time, he knew all the grooves.
I longed for him, I finally had him close
The fool in a hurry kissed my nose.
I laughed at his jokes, his every master stroke
He touched my heart every time,
At last falling for him didn’t seem such a big crime!
The touch of the hand, the warmth of the touch
You are too much! Said I to his face
Come my love, let’s close the space.

Stop him right there said my mind
Think something smart, don’t be blind.
I like him, today he is mine
So what if this is the first and the last time!
Nothing stays for long, frivolous love is not wrong.
The heart wants what it wants!
It won’t listen to your crazy rants.
Our lips engaged, You know the tale
This is where we women fail.

He slyly made his next move
Stop him said my mind, I don’t approve.
I held his hand, Took a stand;
This time lets talk, have another drink of your favourite brand.

It was about time, his driver was waiting in the car
He was travelling to a place too far.
Il call you again in an hour
On my return, will straight come to you in my jaguar.

Making promises some so bizarre
He left my house with the door ajar
This I believe was his usual repertoire!

I could smell his perfume on my couch
He had no feelings for me, I could vouch
There was no message, there was no call
Im glad I stopped myself before the fall.
Amazed in disbelief, how he could go so far
Make staunch promises
When he meant nothing, nothing at all!

New to this world, I sign in relief,
In the end, I’m Glad this episode was brief!

--

--