Revealed

Silver Dog
Poets Unlimited

--

I went inside for a time
two decades wandering
stone cavern in my mind
convinced as a convict
that escape did not exist
then your jail-break lips
and snowflake lashes
liberated my lostness
I left behind everything
with a name
to hold you again.

What moves will be held
born helpless we learn first
love needs a place to inhabit
a harbor where Utopia begins
and the weeping ends.

There is time enough
adrift in our stone boat
eventually we will pull our
copper oars hard against the current
bite into electric phosphorescence
begin to glow I know
words begin as ink
puddle pool ocean
a sea of black attenuates
into reedy thin lines
mantra repeated across papyrus
inscriptions hold meaning
but only for what has a name.

I went inside in order to learn
detailing desire naming need
until only the unnamed remained
a light without color
in you in me together
brightness and dark-light combine
and soon your hand in mine
finger tracing veins beneath
white translucent bone
moon rides to harbor in the sun
my love travels home.

I’m learning still
how to keep my eyes open
how to not listen
how to desire what cannot
be named
you have a name
but it is only letters
ink on paper
I know you unlettered
revealed you teach me
unspeakable truth.

--

--