Somewhere in Saat Taal, Uttarakhand, India

Ruins of Solitude

Tanushree Singh
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMay 12, 2016

--

Ripples in the lake multiply

My hair dries out in the gentle breeze.

The leaves make music as

Sunlight filters from between.

There’s a beautiful word for it,

Komorebi.

And then there’s the singing of birds,

Which ones, I have no clue.

They are of different kinds,

Definitely more than two.

A bunch of loud boys,

In the distance I hear.

The man in the yellow

Kayak has returned

In his orange vest

And a blue helmet.

And someone is asking

If this is the right lake,

With their feet exactly

in the right place.

I unintentionally eavesdrop

on a conversation

About the toppling of

the State government,

and a possible President’s rule.

And I care little about that

But more about how

I can hear the wind no more.

--

--