Saying Something

Peter Johnson
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJan 19, 2018

Is Marvin coming, I ask?
My amazed sister exclaims, he died last November!
Totally crushed, I respond to this sadness
As my heart physically begins to sink

I look up and see a jaw-dropping beautiful place
And think to myself, too bad you don’t have a camera
But, as the warm sunlight meets my skin
I wonder which F stop I would use

As I drink in the awesome beauty
As cute young girl approaches
Aren’t you from Wisconsin, I ask
She matter of factly says yes, as if it means nothing

I know what question she is about to ask
I know she wants me to help her get out the vote
But I feel the lingering weight of losing a loved one
And simply say, I’m just not into all that rah, rah, rah!

Suddenly I’m in a beautiful resort
Gorgeous sunken tubs all around
Awestruck by their beauty
I ask another guest, are you using that one?

Then I awake and try to shake off this dream
It takes a while to leave me
I walk into the living room and begin eating an apple
Chewing it with the few teeth I have left

I turn the television on
And tune in CNN
Trump is at his best worst again
But I just don’t give a damn about politics anymore!

1/19/2018 — Peter W. Johnson

_

--

--