Schism: In Heart / In Mind

Lyric Doe
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readAug 24, 2016
© Lyric Doe

Born in concrete
And parallel lines
It writhes
In between sinew
I stretch
From here to there
In calculated motion
And cacophonous sound
Snapping to and fro,
As necks occasionally do
In the midst of anger
And pride
And tears,
Fears
Buried in
Chest
Festering
Until you are
Realized
And
Full Bodied Monster
With quick tongue
And calcified heart.

Atomic Father
Knows
I’ve tried to quell
The passion run
Amok
In mind
Swollen with rampant ideal
Of you,
Existing only as
Fiction and
Hope.
Potential.
I have learned
Better.

Fear or Love.
The choice
Was ours and
I dared to dream
Drearily dark
In depths of reddish hue
And chunky blood
Stained earth
That rose
Metallic in nature
And bloomed towards
The sun.
I have chosen
Better.

Dodge the bullet
Swift as the one
And let the pain of loss
Subside
Heart — I no longer trust
Given choice
And lesson learned.
My raven
Comes no more.

--

--

Lyric Doe
Poets Unlimited

New York Born. Tokyo Lived. Poet/Food Blogger/Artist /Web Design and Programming. http://lyricdoe.com/